13 a day

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
13 babies under 28 days of age die in DR every day. in latin america only haiti and guyana have worse results of infant mortality.
http://www.elcaribe.com.do/2016/06/29/13-ninos-mueren-diario-por-causas-prevenibles

it seems like an exaggerated number as official boletin epidemiologico registered only 2,719 infant deaths in 2015, down from 3,407 in 2014.
still, it means that more babies die here every year than there are victims of vehicular accidents or homicides.

dominican government, of course, blames c-section rates while pediatricians talk about dangers of early pregnancies and malnutrition.
http://www.diariolibre.com/noticias...e-la-mortalidad-infantil-en-el-pais-NN4186528

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
How many of those babies are from Haitian women?

Many Dominican hospitals receive an excessive amount of pregnant Haitian women. Some hospitals actually register most of their births to Haitian women.

Often times its not just their first time in a hospital, but also the first time they get a medical check up during their pregnancy. Due to that, many women are attended with complications that could had easily been avoided had they received proper health care from the start of their pregnancy. Many of these women cross into the DR illegally with the purpose of giving birth.

They have to be having an impact on the figures too. Dominican figures should be segregated between the figures for the country and then another figure excluding all foreigners. That would clear up how much responsibility the Dominican public health system has in the high infant mortality rate and how much of that is the effect of the illegal immigration problem.

Jun 18, 2007
www.rentalmetrocountry.com

Many Dominican hospitals receive an excessive amount of pregnant Haitian women. Some hospitals actually register most of their births to Haitian women.