Corruption at Hig?ey's 'Preventive' Jail

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A young man tried to travel to Spain with fake c?dula, visa, and passport. He was arrested at the Punta Cana Airport and taken to the preventive jail in Hig?ey. During the 3 or 4 days his checking in process took place, he was charged RD$5,000 daily for his protection. He refused to pay it, so he was visciously raped more than 20 times. The guy is now at a medical facility in Santo Domingo and is suicidal.

The lawyer made the news public by calling at ZolFM radio station.

[video=youtube;2teM5_a98mY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2teM5_a98mY[/video]

The preventive jail is not part of the new model jails.

I wonder if due to the publicity this case is receiving, if this will cause the authorities to do something with the way that preventive jail works.

Other guys taken into custody with the young man paid the RD$5,000 daily fee to a jail inmate that was charging that amount for protection, and they were not harmed.

notreallyconfused

Feb 18, 2013