Considering a Move to Jarabacoa from NYC- Question about Employment

rms1019

Jul 12, 2016
Hi Everyone!

Forgive me if this is the wrong folder for this post, it has been a while since my last one! All of your posts have proven incredibly helpful to me for years.
I am interested in moving from NYC, to Jarabacoa. I have been a number of times, and have some connections there, but am just beginning more seriously looking for a job.

I have some experience teaching, and was told there are lots of opportunities to teach English. I am aware of both Jarabacoa Christian School and Duolos. I am however not interested in having to raise my own salary entirely (missionary).
I know that JCS does pay, and am attempting contact with them for more info.

I am wondering if anyone knows any other language institutes, private centers, or other places where English teachers may be needed. I am in contact with CIEE and TEFL but have not had luck yet for Jarabacoa specifically.

Aside from teaching, I have entertained the idea of working in eco tourism, for example Rancho Baiguate. If anyone has any suggestions for specific other places, or for jobs they are aware of, that would be fantastic.

I have been trying to gather as much information as possible, but of course much of this is not readily available online. I plan on returning in September, and hope to interview/check out some potential employers if I can line some things up beforehand.

Any suggestions of locations, websites, people to contact, or where to begin, I would be very grateful. This also goes for renting a house/apartment, which I again know is better done in person and have some friends who have been successful, but do not know if there is a specific agent I should contact.

A little about me for guidance: 24 year old female, college degree, working in edtech sales currently but have experience in non-profit, education, and coaching sports and fitness, and missions. (in and out of the DR)