How to deal with military/government chiefs who abuse their position?

beeza

Silver
Nov 2, 2006
I'm going to share a rant with the hope that someone with enough time and experience in this country might be able to give me some advice on how to deal with a delicate situation.

I'm an aircraft technician and over that last couple of months I've been involved in a project to completely refurbish a private aircraft. I'm now at the finishing stages and today I finally received the pieces of interior trim and seats to complete the interior.

In order to bring all these pieces airside to the airport apron where the plane is parked, I had to jump through all sorts of hoops just to get the permission to take them through. I had already thought about that and I had all my documents in order. A letter from CESAC, the airport security chief, a letter from customs and the approval from the DNCD, department of drug control.

When I presented the letters to the security staff at the airport gate, the CESAC guys radioed ahead for their supervisor. The supervisor comes to the gate and I ask if I can pass the items through the X ray machine. He agrees, but says that I can't take them onto the ramp until the security chief (Sierra Uno) says so. But he's in Santo Domingo and not answering his phone!

Eventually he is contacted and he requests for photos of the letters to be sent to his whatsapp. Eventually he gives the green light and says as soon as the drugs dogs have been through everything then I can take them onto the ramp.

Hooray I shout to myself. This process of waiting has taken at least an hour and a half.

So I take the parts to the plane and get to work. A few moments later, a CESAC guard comes up to me and tells that I am not permitted to work on the plane. When I ask why, he just said that it was an order from Sierra Uno. I was permitted to take the parts onto the ramp, but not permitted to work on it.