Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Claro upgrades?

  1. #1
    DR1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    20,743
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Claro upgrades?

    Has Claro been upgrading the past few months?  

    We've always had serious issues with internet and phone at our house.  Unusable indoors, iffy outside. I literally had to wait until we visited Santo Domingo to do online banking, and half the time I had trouble reading DR1 or Facebook, or googling, etc. In the old days, Mr AE literally climbed on the roof to make a call

    Got here Saturday, and was shocked to see LTE with 5 bars on my phone.   No issues in three days. 

    Any publicity about this?  I'm a happy campesina. There's hope for this country!




    Administrator
    DR1.com

  2. #2
    Moderator - Ladies Only & North West
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5,421
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You have nicked my signal. I have zero phone signal with Claro and internet is off an on when used to be perfect - they are apparently upgrading the service which appears to mean turning it off completely. Can you send it back here please?

    Matilda

  3. Likes AlterEgo liked this post
  4. #3
    Gold
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,791
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I'll check to see if there isn't a tower I can knock down somewhere.

    They're always upgrading somewhere. I'm still waiting for the day I'll get Claro Fibre Optic here in Nigua.

  5. Likes AlterEgo liked this post
  6. #4
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,140
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    They're also still rolling out fiber. There are probably windows where the CO switch isn't upgraded before the fiber rollout saturates the bandwidth.

  7. #5
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    35,535
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaime809 View Post
    They're also still rolling out fiber. There are probably windows where the CO switch isn't upgraded before the fiber rollout saturates the bandwidth.
    We had some poor service in Jarabacoa while Claro transitioned from microwave to fiber in the local server center.

    Now the speeds aren't faster, but much more consistent even during high-traffic periods because there is plenty of bandwidth.

  8. #6
    Moderator - Ladies Only & North West
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5,421
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I chatted with them online today via their website and i kept moving up the queue then back down again lol. Eventually I just asked them if they were working in this area as zero signal and the person had no idea. But said I would get a refund lol. I don't want a refund just want a bloody signal lol.

    Mat

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •