Book on Trujillo??

GringoRubio

Bronze
Oct 15, 2015
Can anybody recommend good book on Trujillo's dictatorship: A story from start to finish. Spanish is okay. I've found German historians do a great job on Latin American subjects as well.

All I can find focuses more on the USA interactions and policies. I want something more from a Dominican perspective or Latin America at large.

melphis

Living my Dream
Apr 18, 2013
The book "Why the Cocks Fight" by Michele Wrucker covers a lot of the Trujillo years but also covers the problems between the DR and Haiti. I enjoyed it but the first chapter is really dry as it goes into great depths on why cocks fight.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Michele Wruckers' book leaves out a huge part of the history between DR and Haiti, hence the conclusions in her book are all wrong. Her book doesn't really focuses on the Trujillo dictatorship, but rather on Dominican-Haitian relations with Dominicans getting all the blame. 

Better sources, not to mention are heavily focused on the dictatorship, would be Trujillo, mi padre by Angelita Trujillo. This book is banned in the DR, but you can still get it abroad. If you buy it and decide to take it back into the country, I suggest you put over it a dust jacket of some irrelevant book. Customs officials are instructed to confiscate the book. Needless to say, the book gived a more positive look at the regime, but also goes into some pesky details that ruffles the feathers of a few families that insist they were always anti-Trujillistas when in reality that wasn't the case.