Santo Domingo's New Malecon

How do you rate the design and details of the new malecon?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The first phase of the remodeling of the malecon (avenida George Washington) were concluded roughly three days ago. The remodeling includes the replacement of the pink sidewalk with a modern sleek and modern looking white/gray-ish sidewalk with interesting post-modern design. It 'opens' the views of the Caribbean Sea. It also includes new light fixtures.

On a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 = horrible and 5 = excellent, rate the new design of Santo Domingo's malecon.

The following two videos show snapshots of the part already remodeled.

[video=youtube;aQL_YBl3dt4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQL_YBl3dt4[/video]

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This video is of the inauguration of the first phase of the project. The guy in the image before starting the video is the mayor David Collado. Within the video are snapshots here and there of the inaugurated parts.

[video=youtube;ueYqimCBjKY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ueYqimCBjKY[/video]

Mauricio

Gold
Nov 18, 2002
The pavement looks just fine to me but making something of the boulevard would mean rearranging traffic and probably think about places across the street to eat or drink something. 

It's still not a place I'd go with the children for the traffic , including heavy trucks, racing a few inches from the pavement.

However I was sceptical about the ZC as well 5 years ago and that actually worked out quite well. 

sddr

I love Dominicans!!!!
Aug 29, 2016
To make Malecon look nice, they need to remove all Dominicans from it LOL!

ju10prd

On Vacation!
Nov 19, 2014
Accountkiller