Finding English based work in the DR

suarezj519

May 14, 2014
OK so it seems my previous post was axed, so I'll word my post much better this time haha. So basically, I am a young student planning to start on my degree withjn the next year and was wondering if anyone knew of any job opportunities here (specifically Santo Domingo) for English speakers that are preferably not call centers. I have done work at home in the US and am trying to find something to do from here in the DR, but it seems they're not too keen on letting people work outside the US, I assume due to laws. I've thought of teaching English as I privately in the past, but I currently do not possess a TEFL cert. I have done the call center gigs here mainly trying to get into their IT departments, but I have low vision and unfortunately they axed me for productivity reasons due to that and along with the rest of my training group. I'm planning to return to the US eventually in the far future because I'm planning to take my gf with me to live, but for now I'm planning to settle here in SD for a while. Any help would be greatly appreciated guys.

josh2203

Bronze
Dec 5, 2013
I have done work at home in the US and am trying to find something to do from here in the DR, but it seems they're not too keen on letting people work outside the US, I assume due to laws.

While living in the DR, I've worked remotely for a number of US based companies, so while I also know there are companies, or positions which do not allow you to reside outside of the US (data handling / senstitive data etc. reasons, among others), there are plenty that do. On the cases I've seen (no expert on US legislation, cannot comment here), it has only to do with what information the client company is comfortable moving between two countries and with what information they are not comfortable with that.