Is the Puerto Plata Highrise Mania on the Horizon?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It was a matter of time. A new touristic-residential project named Green World is currently under construction within the Playa Dorada beach resort complex. This project consist of 7 buildings of 7 floors each, in effect becoming the first true highrises on the north coast, albeit on the lower height end. This also has implications for the city of Puerto Plata itself. While it’s true the project is within a restrict access complex and outside of the buit up city area, Playa Dorada actually sits within the municipality of Puerto Plata with the small river east of the complex representing the eastern municipal border. 

Was the height limit secretly modified and now highrises are allowed in Puerto Plata? 

Will the malecón and Cofresí areas see the next boom of highrises? 

Questions that are still not answered.

a08ep2.jpg

9gvmsl.jpg

President Danilo Medina was at the construction initiation ceremony with the Dominican investors:

[video=youtube;rrX9KjhzIZo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrX9KjhzIZo[/video]

* I’m considering these buildings as highrises because Dominican construction regulation dictates that any building with more than 4 floors must incorporate elevators. If a building needs elevators, it means it has too many floors for a healthy adult to comfortable reach the higher floors via stairs only. 

Last edited by a moderator:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Details of the project that might initiate the highrise boom in Puerto Plata:

[video=youtube;3lkjuTFqVZ8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lkjuTFqVZ8[/video]

ctrob

Silver
Nov 9, 2006
It well underway in Playa Dorada. Blue JakTar has two buildings up of 7 floors each. More 7 story buildings are planned. Riviera Azul has a 5 story going up right now and a second 5 story is planned.