Julio Iglesias Sells Punta Cana Investments

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I haven't seen any news in English about this.

Julio Iglesias supposedly sold off his participation in Grupo Punta Cana. He's keeping his Punta Cana home and just a 5% participation in the Punta Cana International Airport (which is a private airport.) His Dominican investment liquidation supposedly produced him US$300 million (his participation in Grupo Punta Cana amounted to 25%.)

Among the reasons cited for his decision to liquidate his Dominican investments are his uneasy relationship with Frank Rainieri (he considered Oscar de la Renta -died in 2014- a brother and literally built his Punta Cana home next to Oscar's, but considered Rainieri something else) and the new fiscal changes in Dominican law that makes the DR less attractive as an investment destination.

He's also selling his home in Indian Creek, Florida (he has another home in Palm Beach) and is asking US$120 million. He also recently bought a new property in Panama.

Of all his homes, he spends the most time in Punta Cana. Who knows if this will continue to be the case.

Julio Iglesias liquida sus inversiones en Punta Cana y adquiere una propiedad en Panamá

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
"Fiscal changes in Dominican law?"

Like what, exactly?

Perhaps his 10-year income tax abatement fot investment in a special tourist zone expired?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Update: Julio's Indian Creek, FL property is not a house, but rather a parcel of land. He demolished the house he built there.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
"Fiscal changes in Dominican law?"

Like what, exactly?

Perhaps his 10-year income tax abatement fot investment in a special tourist zone expired?