inflation

lisliuq

Mar 27, 2002
Hi, I'm an student, and i have a question.
If a country have an inflation, and the prices doesn't go up because the goverment control them, there's or not an inflation ?
thanks.

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Inflation and price controls

If the gov't controls prices there will still be some inflation because some prices are beyond gov't control unless the gov't decides to subsidize the prices that they can not control (for example energy prices).
However inflation will not be as bad as it would if the gov't didn't control prices. The danger of this stategy comes when the gov't finally releases control (which it eventually must or it will go bancrupt). When the gov't ceases to control prices if economic conditions are not favorable, run-away inflation will occur.

mondongo

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
definition of inflation

Take a basket of goods:

1) apple
2) milk
3) mattres
4) vacation

etc

Inflation is how much the price changes from one time period to another. Of course, you have to ask yourself many questions: should you take into account any material improvements that have beend made during that time period? For example, the top of the line DELL computer costs about the same every year: US$2500 or so. However, the performance continually increases. Would you say there is no inflation or defaltion in computer prices? Its up to those who define inflation.

However, If you just use , say a loaf of bread, then its easy. Its simply the change in price for the same exact loaf.

Government price controls just about the worst thing a government can do to its economy. There is NOTHING, I REPEAT, NOTHING good about it. It might have short term psychological effects, but in the long run it trashes the free market.

mondongo

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Jealous Jazz???

Canada had wage and price controls during a period of high inflation. I lived through it and kept my business running.....
so I know a little about it!