any one have any good domincan recipes

jessica__78

Apr 3, 2002
I am lookin for diffrent dominican recipes. Nothing like gourme meals just something everyday, any kind will do.
Ihave heard that the dominican cake is out of this world!?

trina

Silver
Jan 3, 2002
I'm a pretty fine Dominican cook. Remember when you come back to bring some Ranchero sazon...outta this world. Here are a couple of links for you:

http://www.iguanamama.com/info-food-recepies.html

http://ecommerce.enel.net/nuestracocina/recetario.asp

(guess you beat me to that one, Anna!)

http://www.rincondominicano.net/lonuestro/cocina/cocinadominicana3.html

also, check the archives...you'll find a lot of info if you do a search on recipes, also search on tostones...there was quite a thread on cooking plantains...think it was at the end of 2001. Have fun!

trina

Silver
Jan 3, 2002
BTW

Does anyone know what beans are used in Habichuelas con Dulce? I know recipes call for "red beans"...the only such beans I can find here are kidney beans...anybody know?

Last edited:

trina

Silver
Jan 3, 2002
I use Romano beans, too, but that's for regular rice and beans or morro. Does she use Romano for hab. con dulce, too?

jessica__78

Apr 3, 2002
my absolute fav dominican food is morri son yando (bear with the spelling), like an orange julis, but 100 x better!

jessica

trina

Silver
Jan 3, 2002
mmmmmmmnnnnnn...........locrio con camarrones...............

el jefe, locrio has to be about the easiest meal to make...do you know how to make the sazon? have the pork/chicken/whatever meat marinading in sazon for a minimum of 4 hours, boil with oil, salt, and water until tender; add rice, water, OXO chicken boullion, a couple tsps of tomato paste, cook until rice is done, and you're set.

Hint for tender meat: Put oil in bottom of pan along with a tsp of sugar. When the sugar turns black, the meat is ready to go in.

Last edited:

mondongo

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
Trina....locrio con habichuala y aguacate...