Introducing Myself

Corona

Apr 18, 2002
Good Evening to All!

I am new here in your arena. I have been browsing all the different groups and have gleaned so much from you all-- thank you! I want to lurk and learn as much as I can, as I am considering seriously a move with my partner to the Dominican Republic from the U.S.

We are interested in your area for several reasons, one being the climate, another being the location, and yet another being
the association with people from other cultures around the world.

My background is varied; I have been married, raised two sons, widowed by M.S. (husband diagnosed two weeks after honeymoon--20 yrs. married), and now am single and attached to a man with whom I live. I have been a homeschooler, a caregiver, and interpreter for the Deaf at the college level, as well as in primary and secondary levels. I have a keen interest in animals, especially birds, and have begun researching the flora and fauna and wildlife of D R. I am an unlicensed body worker.
My giftings incorporate my eyes and hands mostly.

I don't know that I will post much-- I want to keep reading all your offerings... but I may ask a question now and then!

For instance, a question now in mind is-- Is there a deaf culture in the D R? Are the deaf treated with respect, or treated as outcasts, as in some other parts of the world? I had the priviledge of teaching a 15 yr. old girl from another country where
deafness was something akin to leprosy. She had never attended a school, was kept home by her family to protect her from danger and ostracism in their society. I learned her family's
home signing system, then taught her A.S.L. for conversing and English sign so she could read books. She decided to become a doctor! I believe she can do it.

Another question would center around the requirements for massage therapy. Can you point me in a direction to inquire about this?