Help - Staying in Santiago!

hypolite

Apr 21, 2002
Hello Everyone. I am new to this message board, and this is my second thread. I've been lurking around the threads, and I find that people here are knowledgable and helpful.

I'm in need of some help in getting ready for my second trip to the Dominican Republic. I'll be spending 2 months in Santiago this summer, and I have some questions about things. I'm hoping someone on the list can help.

1) Is it easy to get internet access in Santiago? What companies are good? What about issues of power-outages (I work for a company that does document editing online, and would need to be able to send and receive work).

2) Any problems with travel to Haiti during my stay? (Anything of which I should be cautious?)

3) I'm still looking for language schools. I've been trying to contact PUCMM, as recommended in another post, but haven't had any success online.

4) Anyone know of a place where I can take cooking classes? I'd really like to learn how to make some of the things I enjoyed my last trip (including Mangu')

Many thanks to anyone who can be of assistance.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Internet Access: Tricom or Codetel. Piece of cake, if you have a phone.

Power outages. Yes, of course, but they are manageable. Try and find a place that has an inverter or aux. generator.

Did you go to www.pucmmsti.edu.do??? You should get some response from them. If not, there are other options for language learning.

As far as cooking classes, they have some at Hach? just about every month. If not, I am sure some nice person will teach you....

HB, the ol' Santiaguero!

Bugsey34

Bronze
Feb 15, 2002
internet cafes are fairly easy to come by in Santiago too, and they have backup generators so nothing is lost...

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Haiti.....