Dominican Diputados: Maids can't be forced to wear uniforms in public

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A new law is in the works or at least was voted in favor by the Chamber of Deputies. This law prohibits patrons from demanding that maids and nannies wear their uniforms outside of the home where they work.

No more maids and nannies in uniforms when the family is out in some restaurant, attending a doctor's appointment, running errands, etc.

I personally think this is a stupid law. Now nannies will have to wear their own personal clothing while dealing with undisciplined children that throw food, vomit, and God knows what other things kids do that will leave their mark not on the nanny's uniform bought and supplied by her wealthier patron, but rather the clothes she buys with her own limited money.

That kid makes a scene and somehow rips the blouse, sorry nanny but you will have to pay for that out of your pocket.

The diputados claim that this new law is a way to discourage discrimination towards domestic servants in public places.

I do wonder how will this law be enforced. Will the patrons be fined if the maid leaves the house in uniform or will the police interrupts the maid/nanny from her work in order to ask her if she's being forced to wear the uniform in public?

Does the law leaves room for the nannies to choose to wear uniforms, especially the ones that have to deal with kids during their rebellious phases?

The law does has some positive aspects, such as regulating maid's working hours, making it an obligation for maids to be given health insurance by their patrons, better working and wage conditions, etc.