Dominican Marriage/Long Term Relationship Preference (Gallup 1995)

Do you think these perceptions from 1995 have changed?

• Yes

Votes: 4 57.1%
  • No

Votes: 3 42.9%
  • I don't know.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Found a poll done by Gallup in 1995 (yes, the same company that gauges political trends, consumer trends, and other social trends) concerning Dominican marriage/long term relationship preferences based on skin color and nationality (when it comes to Haitians and 'North Americans' -aka, Americans and Canadians, more so Americans-).

Even though this was done in 1995, I personally think not much has changed. If anything, there might be a greater rejection towards the Haitians due to all the scandals that has taken place in the past decade or so.

Please notice the color code in the graphs isn't standardized.
For question 1: dark green = doesn't care, purple = brown, pink = white, light green = black.
For question 2: dark green = disapproves, purple = doesn't care, pink = approves
For question 3: dark green = doesn't care, purple = approves, pink = disapproves

These were the results:

1. Would you prefer that a close family member would marry a white, a brown, or a black person?
Answers: 56.7% doesn't care, 26.2% prefers brown, 11.8% prefers white, 2.8% prefers black, rest doesn't know or didn't answer.
RD1.jpg

Same question as 1, but by income levels.
High Incomes: 67.7% doesn't care, 13.8% prefers brown, 12.3% prefers white, 1.5% prefers black
Middle Incomes: 65.1% doesn't care, 21.9% prefers brown, 11.2% prefers white, 0% prefers black
Low Incomes: 54.5% doesn't care, 27.7% prefers brown, 11.9% prefers white, 3.4% prefers black
RD2.jpg

Same question as 1, but by gender.
Male: 56.8% doesn't care, 25.7% prefers brown, 11.7% prefers white, 3.2% prefers black
Female: 56.6% doesn't care, 26.6% prefers brown, 12.0% prefers white, 2.5% prefers black
RD3.jpg

Same question as 1, but by age groups.