Bringing in goods when moving to D.R.

Coach Bob

Apr 29, 2018
First of all, let me just say thank for some great information that I received from my first post (I think). . . And after browsing around, this is really a great site!!! . . Gracias a Dios!

Okay, when I do come down this summer as a retired teacher, I plan to bring a few personal items from my house. Will I be taxed if I bring with me one or two televisions? I also want to bring my microwave, nutra-bullet, small toaster. Would I be taxed for things like a couple pots, pans, beer and coffee mugs, and silver ware??? Clothing???

Por favor, I know you guys have all the answers, dime!

Ducadista

Nov 7, 2011
Valeu Cara!
Yes you will be taxed, how much? Based on my experience, the inspector makes it up on the fly. 

I did my move in 2015 (retired as well) was told I could only bring 2 tv's (I had 5) and a max of 32"(mine is 65"). With the help of the moving company and a donation to the inspectors favorite charity, I had no issues.

My advice, ship those items with a cargo shipping company that use boxes or plastic barrels. I have shipped from NYC and MIA with no issues and have only paid the shipping fees. 

My 2 cents. 

ljmesg

Aug 6, 2017
It depends how you "bring them down".

I shipped a 20' container and they hit me with a little more than 10% TAX on the whole lot. The value was based on the crudest of estimates.

The general rule of thumb is if an item is over $200 they will tax it.

The other general rule of thumb is if they want to tax it they will tax it.

I have found if you send items CPS or Aeropost or one of the Miami to DR couriers you will only pay for the weight and the service.

Good luck!

Ps. Many will say just buy the stuff here. That way there is no sweat factor.

Coach Bob

Apr 29, 2018