Amelia Alcántara: Dominican Scandalous Interview of the Year!

What do you think of Amelia Alcántara's interview in El Mañanero?

• She's a disgrace and doesn't represent the average Dominican woman.

Votes: 2 28.6%
  • She says it as it is in modern Dominican society.

Votes: 5 71.4%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Last Monday (May 28) the Santo Domingo based radioshow El Mañanero han an interview with Amelia Alcántara.

The interview has been a complete hit. In a matter of days it received more than 500,000 views and today, after its full week since coming on air, surpasses 700,000 views.

In addition to the very high interest level it has captured from the Dominican audience online, on the radio, and on television; it has also created a scandal with many high profile Dominican women criticizing Amelia Alcántara for her ways.

The problem?

Amelia talks with complete frankness. In the interview she said that she is a chapiadora and confesses that she sleeps with married men. According to her, if she likes a man she goes after him with all her fury, the resulting problems that could arise because of the extramarital affair is only between the guy and his wife, according to her. She claims many of her exes gave her a car and an apartment, among other things. She also said that all Dominican women sleep with married men, and when Liz says she's one that doesn't do that, Amelia responds that Liz should be given a crown for being such a rarity.

She mentions many well known Dominican women that are chapiadoras too, many of which are her friends (or were, after this interview I doubt many of those friendships are in good standing, lol.)

She implies that a man that doesn't sleeps with her within a week of starting to date is not worth it. She's not going to wait to have intimate relations, the waiting game is a thing of the past.