Did US Ambassador Wally had something to do with this? LGBT Dominican Republic

Do you think the influence of ex-US ambassador impacted the LGBT movement in the DR?

• Yes, absolutely.

Votes: 8 34.8%
  • That seems to be the case.

Votes: 3 13.0%
  • I don't think so.

Votes: 11 47.8%
  • I'm not sure.

Votes: 1 4.3%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The ex-US Ambassador Wally was very controversial due to his open support of gay movements and all things gay in the DR. Needless to say, his appointment to the DR was not seen with good eyes.

At one point Wally complained that at many social events the ambassadors of other nations were invited and also received invitations for their spouses, yet he got invited but the invitations never extended to his partner.

Wally also made it public that the US Embassy was going to financially support any declared gay Dominican politicians and/or any gay Dominican political party/group that aspired to gain political influence and political positions in the DR. This was seen by many sectors in Dominican society as an outright declaration of foreign interference in the internal affairs of the country.

Now there's a video that was posted on June 24 of this year in Youtube where a group of young gay/lesbian/bisexual/etc Dominicans express how they 'got out of the closet' and, by virtue of the video itself, are encouraging other Dominicans to do the same.

Would a video like this had been made if it wasn't for Wally's influence?

The ex-ambassador isn't mentioned in the video, but one does has to wonder if his insistence in supporting LGBT movements/interests in the DR indirectly influenced the producers/participants of this video.

[video=youtube;0xu57WrNw18]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xu57WrNw18[/video]

Last edited:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003