Immigration / Overstay

What do you think about the current immigration situation regarding overstayers?

• I'm annoyed. This is not fair to us that follow the legalization rules.

Votes: 1 7.7%
  • I'm very angry. I spent all this money legalizing and they hardly spend anything.

• I don't care. I got my residency when they were giving them away.

• I don't care. Everyone knows that Dominican laws are $electively enforced.

Votes: 10 76.9%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
What do you think about the current immigration situation regarding overstayers?

1.) I'm one of the older guys who got my residency when they were giving them
away like prizes in a CrackerJack box, so I could care less.

2.) I'm one of the guys who had to spend countless hours and a lot of back and
forth involving trips to and from my home country including exorbitant fees for airline tickets / notary services, so I'm a little annoyed at guys who choose to just pay the overstay fee upon their departure.

3.) I'm livid, I spent all this money to get legal and it makes me angry knowing these younger guys are living down here for a fraction of the costs.

4.) I do not care. I realize here in the DR all laws are $$$$electively enforced and I understand everyone's experiences may not mirror my own.

5.) Its neither my problem nor is it my responsibility to educate people with regards to Dominican law.

Poll suggested by CristoRey.

Caonabo

LIFE IS GOOD
Sep 27, 2017
As a Dominican citizen by birth, I happen to be more concerned of the situation some expatriates are creating to fit the molds of their own personal utopian ideologies, based largely on self-righteousness than what is truly beneficial to or for the RD.
Although I would like to contribute to the actual poll listed, none of the available options properly represent my particular perspective of the situation.

keepcoming

Moderator - Living & General Stuff
May 25, 2011