Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Contacting the USA Social Security Admin if needed

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Contacting the USA Social Security Admin if needed

    I will be a retiree on Social Security. The SSA requires 2 forms of security to log in, a password and a phone security code they send you. Here in the USA it's not a biggie, even when you change phone numbers. They just mail you at your home of record a different security code and you use it to change your phone number on their records. However in the DR, they won't be able to do it. I'm concerned in not being able to contact the SSA in the event of an issue. Any suggestions?

    Thanks so much in advance!!

    Rob

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    650
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Don't know how others have done this. We kept our U.S. phone number that rings here in the D.R. Have had the same number for over 30 years. No problems. Waiting for the mail to arrive is … another story. lol.

    Payments are direct deposit into our U.S. account.

    We found the S.S. people very easy to work with and I'm sure that they are better equipped to guide you. Just might have to sit awhile on hold OR look for the on line Help section.

    Good Luck. It will work out.

  3. Likes JDJones liked this post
  4. #3
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8,708
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You can always contact SS by calling 1 800 772 1213. But from a DR phone you would most likely call 1 880 instead of 800. It may take awhile, but eventually you will get a representative on the line. And they are very helpful I may add.

  5. Likes JDJones liked this post
  6. #4
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    19,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    My application was accepted pending my submission of a birth certif and eveidence of any other pensions (Canada)

    Went in to the local office Monday --- $$ in the bank Friday--- excellent system

    Canada took 2 months.

  7. Likes JDJones liked this post
  8. #5
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    441
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You can email the contact for Social Security for the Dominican Republic and several other Central and South American countries. I didn't receive my Form SSA 7162 by mail this year or last year and I contacted them by email. They sent me a Word version of the form with fillable fields and said I could fill it out, sign and date it and create a pdf to send back by email. I did it last year after my payment was withheld for January and they reinstated my payment within a week. And this year, i hadn't received the form again so I emailed and did the same thing. The email address is: [email protected]

  9. Likes JDJones, Juan Bosch liked this post
  10. #6
    No fui yo!
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    3,495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKY View Post
    You can always contact SS by calling 1 800 772 1213. But from a DR phone you would most likely call 1 880 instead of 800. It may take awhile, but eventually you will get a representative on the line. And they are very helpful I may add.
    Or use Skype and call any number like you are in the US.
    Also if you are on T-Mobile's network your texts will come through.
    What I did was buy a Samsung A8. Compatible on all networks here and it's dual sim so I have Claro for calls and data and T-Mobile set for messages from the states.
    No one here uses messages they just use WhatsApp

  11. Likes JDJones liked this post
  12. #7
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8,708
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I use Magic Jack for 800 numbers. It is the same as calling from the US. Also they see a US number on caller ID.

  13. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Which carrier do you use for that? If you don't mind, please tell me how much it costs.

  14. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thanks to everyone for their responses!!!

  15. #10
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8,708
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TontonRob View Post
    Which carrier do you use for that? If you don't mind, please tell me how much it costs.
    Are you talking about Magic Jack? If so you just buy it for about $35 US and plug it into either your computer or direct to the router. All calls to the US and Canada are free. After 6 months it might cost you $12 for another year, or less for a 5 or 10 year plan. No carrier at all. And it is clearer than my Claro landline.

    http://www.magicjack.com/index.html

    l

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •