Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Over 30 days your passport is blocked.

  1. #1
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Over 30 days your passport is blocked.

    Wife just flying out of POP. She just texted me.

    "New immigration system. All foreign passports with a stay >30 days are automatically blocked So every time they have to take documents over to another station to unblock it"

    We are Dominican residence but appears that does not matter. We have had this happen a couple of times before but was not consistent. I fly out Friday so will see.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    19,782
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    This has been the law/norm for quite some time. Several threads have addressed it

    All non-Dominican passports are blocked, even Dominicans with dual-nationality if they enter with a foreign passport. Was a quick unlock as soon as Mr AE showed his cedula.




    Super Moderator
    DR1.com

  3. Likes bob saunders, Riva_31 liked this post
  4. #3
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8,789
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    They want to make sure to collect the Overstay Fee.

  5. #4
    Gold
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The internet age is creeping into the DR.
    Good or bad things are changing. The net is great for keeping track of people.
    DR income taxes?

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    19,782
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKY View Post
    They want to make sure to collect the Overstay Fee.
    Exactly. No longer can the traveler fold some cash in their passport and be passed through. The individual immigration guy or gal can’t unlock it. Has to be done at the overstay counter. We didn’t know that, after we paid my overstay we proceeded to the regular line, only to have to wait while someone came over and took Mr AEs passport to unlock it.




    Super Moderator
    DR1.com

  7. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I have read that other airports have been doing this for some time. POP is usually behind. As I said before, a few times they had to unblock them but not consistent.

    We ALWAYS have our residence cards with our passport so that does seam to make things go faster... from what the supervisor says. They are not set up/programed to tag people as a resident using a foreign passport that would be a lot better.

    So ALL foreign passports that are over 30 days stay are now blocked.

    As noted before; It's the law.

  8. #7
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    19,856
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I think it depends on how new your residency card is.
    I have renewed recently and I now appear on the computer.... no need for fingerprints

    The newer cards may be 'in the system' while the older ones are not.

    I renewed in April and have no problems since... 2 or 3 exits

  9. #8
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8,789
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlterEgo View Post
    Exactly. No longer can the traveler fold some cash in their passport and be passed through. The individual immigration guy or gal can’t unlock it. Has to be done at the overstay counter. We didn’t know that, after we paid my overstay we proceeded to the regular line, only to have to wait while someone came over and took Mr AEs passport to unlock it.
    If Mr. [email protected] still has a Dominican passport tell him to use it at Immigration. Going out they will want to see the US one but stamp the DR one.I use the DR passport so my US one is never locked.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    19,782
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKY View Post
    If Mr. [email protected] still has a Dominican passport tell him to use it at Immigration. Going out they will want to see the US one but stamp the DR one.I use the DR passport so my US one is never locked.
    He carries his DR passport but never uses it because it expired years ago. Since we always have to go to the overstay desk for mine anyway........




    Super Moderator
    DR1.com

  11. #10
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlterEgo View Post
    He carries his DR passport but never uses it because it expired years ago. Since we always have to go to the overstay desk for mine anyway........
    Sooo. It's Mr. AE's problem. lol

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •