Curious about everyone’s opinion on...

jricks76

Feb 11, 2011
I have been coming down to the DR (Sosua area) off and in since 2009.
I am aware that vacationing and living are completely different. My question is
What are the things that are difficult to get, or what things/places would you like to see open in the smaller towns in the DR.

Could be a type of restaurant, type of store, an item/service that’s hard to find or very expensive, etc...?

What are the things you miss most? If any?

Thanks in advance for the reply’s. Can’t wait to get back beginning of next year.

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
I’ll be the wet blanket......... if you’re considering moving to DR, anywhere in DR, and opening a restaurant or business, forget it. If by some miracle you are successful, 5 other identical places will open near you and put you out of business.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
if you are dreaming of living off gringos and their sentimental yearning then you're in for a surprise.

any gringo has two brain cells capable of cooperating when sober has already figured out that if they want anything they better fragging learn to obtain it themselves. fancy asian food? cook it yo self. tasty pastries? bake it yo self. exotic ingredients? ship it yo self. quality appliances? bring it yo self.

and the reason for all this self pleasuring? it's because when (and if) available, all those things are motherfragging pricey. and guess what, if you were to start a business providing any of the above small luxuries you'd still need to charge extra to make a profit. and gringos would rather spend that money on booze or ass.

sayanora

Silver
Feb 22, 2012
Coming from someone that has success in the bar/restaurant business in the country.. here's a free tip for anyone wanting to start a business on the North Coast.. subway franchise in sosua or cabarete..

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016