Finally, some good news for the North Coast

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
Anybody figure out where in Puerto Plata yet?

CFA123

Silver
May 29, 2004
Anybody figure out where in Puerto Plata yet?

I was told a while back there was a deal in the making for W-Hotels on the old Azurro lot in Cabarete. Schembri-Sant’s involvement would seem to confirm it as I believe he is one of the owners of that property.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Marriott has much experience in the DR, although basically limited to city hotels geared towards business travelers in Santo Domingo. I think their positive experience with the JW Marriott Santo Domingo hotel, which is a top notch place, open their eyes for DR´s potential as a luxury tourism destination.

drstock

Silver
Oct 29, 2010
Cabarete
I was told a while back there was a deal in the making for W-Hotels on the old Azurro lot in Cabarete. Schembri-Sant’s involvement would seem to confirm it as I believe he is one of the owners of that property.

Where is that in Cabarete?

cavok

Silver
Jun 16, 2014
Cabarete

They don't have any beach front(?).

ctrob

Silver
Nov 9, 2006

Yes, In a woodsy area near a bunch of shacks all selling the same stuff, overlooking a nice bay.

My other guestimate would be just outside of Puerto Plata. Plenty of room either side of Playa Dorada. Decent infrastructure, traffic patterns good, stores, and close to airport, close to marina, restaurants, etc.

I doubt it's going to Cabarete. They would have to deal with the 3-story limit rule, right? Plus the traffic problem that isn't getting fixed in the near future.

ohmmmm

Bronze
Jun 11, 2010
Yes, In a woodsy area near a bunch of shacks all selling the same stuff, overlooking a nice bay.

My other guestimate would be just outside of Puerto Plata. Plenty of room either side of Playa Dorada. Decent infrastructure, traffic patterns good, stores, and close to airport, close to marina, restaurants, etc.