Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to determine value of a property?

Post Thanks / Like

Default How to determine value of a property?

Hello,

I have been traveling a lot to DR, and I will like to purchase a property with financing options. (I will be getting my dominican citizingship in the next couple month - parents are dominicans).

I'm a real estate broker in the U.S and have flip some properties, here you can determine the value of a property by looking at the comparables properties that have sold in close proximity in the last 3 month. Here in the states property sale records are public and are available on the internet.

How can this method be applied in the DR? Are those record public somehow? How do appraiser really determine the value of a property in DR? I don't want to hire an appraiser for every property I look at (and I like to look at a lot & make multiple offers)

I'm used to making offers here in the U.S without even seeing the property in person sometimes.

Help will be appreciated, thanks!

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

This was discussed on another thread(maybe you can search it), but it is impossible to do comps here like you can in the US.

Some of the bigger brokers can help some, but it's hard to know which ones to trust. With enough time and effort you'll have a good idea, but it's not easy like it is in the US.

Post Thanks / Like

Main reason why I ask, is because I just came back from DR, and I was walking around my grandmother neighborhood in santo domingo with her, and she started pointing at house that have previously sold in the past and she was telling me they sold for 4-5,000,000 pesos. I went to cotoros.com and search similar properties in her neighborhood and the average asking price for similar homes are between 10-12 Million pesos. Found it strange that there's such a different between what she told me and the asking prices

Post Thanks / Like