President of Spain in the DR

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Pedro Sánchez, the president of Spain, was in the DR on an official visit. Last year Queen Letizia made an official visit too, and King Felipe did a couple of non-official visits.

Why is it that Spanish leaders give the DR a symbolic act of respect year after year, yet the US president can’t be bothered to make just one one-day official trip to Santo Domingo? Never has a US president stepped on Dominican soil while in office!

Next year a new president will be inaugurated and, judging by all other Dominican presidential inaugurations, the King of Spain will be present on the day the new Dominican president takes office. I’m willing to bet the US president will ‘forget’ to travel for the occasion, as all US presidents have done since the DR and the US have diplomatic relations.

The worst part is that Washington DC is so close compared to Madrid. A one day trip is very possible for any US president. This is ridiculous.

Anyway, here is Spain once again showing support and demonstrating an act of respect for tiny DR. Pedro Sánchez was welcomed with all the honors, including the firing of cannons by the military upon his arrival at the National Palace.

[video=youtube;G_GREFswL60]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_GREFswL60[/video]

I’ll the president of China will visit the DR before (and if ever) the US president does. Like I said before, this is ridiculous on the part of the US.

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
We don't need the US President here to pollute the Island anyway.............

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Pedro Sanchez went to Mexico after visiting the DR.

[youtube]z24N8fec2Gs[/youtube]