Why Americans don’t found a social club?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
One thing I have asked myself a few times is why the American community that lives in the DR doesn’t create its own social club. The Spaniarda founded the Casa España in Santo Domingo and the Centro Español in Santiago. Both have many amenities and sports infrastructure, in addition to promoting Spanish culture. Both have mostly Dominican members.

The Catalans have their own social club in Santo Domingo, but its not as nice as the ones for Spaniards as a whole.

The Arabs formed their own Club Sirio Libanés Palestino in Santo Domingo. While they have an uphill battle attracting the Arabs that live in the country, they are growing quite nicely. A nice way to promote Middle Eastern culture. Again, most members are Dominicans.

With a relatively large American presence in Santo Domingo and on the north coast, I’m perplex why there is no interest in founding an American social club in the country. Perhaps there is one and I don’t know about it.

Before anyone says it, I know the Santo Domingo Country Club was founded by a group of Americans, but its not an ethnic social club in the way the Spanish and the Arabs created. If anythig, SDCC is more of an exclusive Dominican club with Dominican values and culture dominating.

Anyone, particularly Americans, know why despite a relatively numerous American presence, the American community has not created its own social club?

cavok

Silver
Jun 16, 2014
Cabarete
Personally, I don't see any need to. In fact, the last thing I want to do is hang out in a club with a bunch of other Americans. If I could find a good salsa club, I'd join that.

I have American friends, Canadian friends, and Dominican friends. Good enough for me.

Last edited:
Sep 4, 2012
Because Americans do not think that way. Americans aren't such elitist thinking group.