Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41
  1. #21
    Gold
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,376
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wojtek View Post
    Thank you William for this thread.I have a couple of questions.What prepaid calling and data (2-5 GB per month) prepaid plans would you guys recommend for staying in DR for about two months? How much is hotspot thru the Claro data sim card? Also what would be the best place to get it in Las Terrenas? Thank you for your help.
    For data I would go with Mi-Fi setup. The mobile router will set you back about $50 is the only drawback. Depends on which carrier has good coverage in your area but Viva is fast and easy to get with no contract.

    https://twitter.com/Viva_RD/status/974361884198625280

  2. #22
    DR1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    21,012
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by william webster View Post
    My T-Mobile calls are 22 cents or so....
    Free data & roaming

    Pay As You Go Claro is about the same cents /minute

    AE, what did you do to get the Text?
    You must have a different plan than I do...

    Call them and ask...
    I did absolutely nothing different. Facebook, DR1, e-mail. No movies, etc.

    I used it last time for 4 months. This trip was only a month. Something changing maybe??

    Administrator
    DR1.com

  3. #23
    Gold
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,376
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigbird View Post
    For data I would go with Mi-Fi setup. The mobile router will set you back about $50 is the only drawback. Depends on which carrier has good coverage in your area but Viva is fast and easy to get with no contract.

    https://twitter.com/Viva_RD/status/974361884198625280


    Claro and Altice have the same type of service so pick the one with best coverage in your area.

  4. #24
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    22,250
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlterEgo View Post
    I did absolutely nothing different. Facebook, DR1, e-mail. No movies, etc.

    I used it last time for 4 months. This trip was only a month. Something changing maybe??
    And you have. The international plan.. yes?

  5. #25
    DR1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    21,012
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by william webster View Post
    And you have. The international plan.. yes?
    Yes, absolutely. Supposedly in something like 144 countries.

    Administrator
    DR1.com

  6. #26
    Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thank you William and Bigbird for your help.

  7. #27
    Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Bigbird, it is a really good suggestion to go with Mi-Fi set up. Especially that I can use it for laptop connection away from my apartment.Do you know by a chance how many devices can be hooked up to it at the same time?

  8. #28
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,573
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Activated an iphone with claro a month ago. Only get 3G. They could nkt get it to do LTE.
    I do have international roaming and it worked this week in miami, dallas and las vegas with LTE.
    Took screen shots to show the Claro “techs”. Claro will do roaming in 22 countries. I used to use T Mobile and roaming in latam was 2G. Only makes sense as claro, telmex and carlos slim provide service in most latam countries.

  9. #29
    Gold
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,376
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wojtek View Post
    Bigbird, it is a really good suggestion to go with Mi-Fi set up. Especially that I can use it for laptop connection away from my apartment.Do you know by a chance how many devices can be hooked up to it at the same time?
    Almost certain up to four devices can be connected at one time.

    I went with the contract with Viva as the contract does not throttle down the speed after a certain amount of usage. No problem as contract can be cancelled at any time with no penalty.

  10. #30
    Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigbird View Post
    Almost certain up to four devices can be connected at one time.

    I went with the contract with Viva as the contract does not throttle down the speed after a certain amount of usage. No problem as contract can be cancelled at any time with no penalty.
    Great.Thank you.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •