Need lawyer: passport and visa application for Dominican citizen

C

chrysalis

Hi, first time posting. I'm not looking for advice, as I've done quite a bit of reading on these forums over the last few months.

Looking for a lawyer based in the capital to help my partner (Dominican citizen) apply for a passport and a B1 tourist visa for the US. I am a natural-born US citizen living in California going through a divorce and eventually plan on emigrating to the DR. But until I get through that whole thing I asked if he would like to take a vacation in the US with me so he gets a chance to join me on my travels.

I've read the threads about how a lawyer is pointless now that the application is all online. But I am a software engineer who grew up in SE Asia and has done extensive travelling. He, on the other hand, is not very tech-savvy, even when I provide him with screenshots and specific instructions, and has never travelled outside the country. I know how daunting it can be to have to get all these documents together and jump through bureaucratic hoops.

I'm looking for recommendations for a trustworthy lawyer who can help him get everything he needs together and walk through the process. He does not speak English, and the visa application form must be filled out in English. Timing is tight, as our vacation times sync up in August, and it's already almost May. I have urged him to get his passport ASAP since he needs it before applying for the visa, but he's a bit lost in the process, and he works 2 jobs so does not have that much free time. Even if we cannot get the visa in time for this trip, it would help future travel.

I would be paying for this trip and can provide a notorised statement and proof of income if it will help prove he's not looking to overstay his visa.

W

windeguy