I want to purchase equity in a law practice

R

rogerramjet1

Hi
I seek to purchase equity in a law practice.
I am not a lawyer. Is this possible in the DR?

THANKS

F

Fabio J. Guzman

Yes, but highly unusual. I don't know of any instance when it has happened.

R

rogerramjet1

Thank you.
I was reading in that such investment in the USA by a non-lawyer is illegal. I was curious about the DR stance on this matter

D

Dr_Taylor

Thank you.
I was reading in that such investment in the USA by a non-lawyer is illegal. I was curious about the DR stance on this matter
The problem in the USA is not that it is "illegal," the various professional conduct codes deem it unethical. With very rare exceptions, professional conduct codes make it unethical for a lawyer to report to a non-lawyer when the lawyer is engaged in the practice of law. Exceptions such as the Attorney General reporting to the President occur; however, the non-lawyer cannot direct the practice of law.

L

lifeisgreat

The problem in the USA is not that it is "illegal," the various professional conduct codes deem it unethical. With very rare exceptions, professional conduct codes make it unethical for a lawyer to report to a non-lawyer when the lawyer is engaged in the practice of law. Exceptions such as the Attorney General reporting to the President occur; however, the non-lawyer cannot direct the practice of law.
No ..but he can get fired...;) ;)

L

LTSteve

Hi
I seek to purchase equity in a law practice.
I am not a lawyer. Is this possible in the DR?

THANKS

If you want to loose your investment be my guest. Why would you think this would be a good move for a gringo? I think the key is you are not a lawyer and I'm assuming you are not bi-lingual either. Someone will take your money and adios amigo. I've read many of your posts and you seem to want to dive into the shallow end of the pool most of the time. Tread lightly. If you really want to throw your money away I can suggest better places to do it?

E