dominican spanish compared to other spanish speaking countries...differences?

ms.mathilda

May 5, 2002
ok after studying spanish on my own with various books and tapes i think i have found some differences but correct me if I'm wrong.
Do Dominicans frequently delete the "s" from the ending of words such as "adios" and "seis"
If so are there any other Dominican spanish rules I should know about before i thoroughly confuse myself even more?
any help greatly appreciated!
thanks
Mattie

pascal

Jan 14, 2002
I am not an expert in language but it occurs to me that there are many hispanic countries in the world and they must have their own peculiarities. My dominican wife doesn' t always understand the Castellano spoken in Spain, equally after a number of years travelling to DR , I thought I could handle Spanish basically anywhere until I was assigned to work in Spain and found out I just had to learn another language. I however believe that with a good basis in Castellano you have a good chance to communicate properly. The dominicans tend to speak rather slowly as opposed to some other hispanic countries.
Differences ! thousands ! impossible to list them all. some of them however may lead to great confusion and misunderstanding. Just an example ' guapo ' in Dominican spanish means ' upset ' while in Castellano it means ' handsome '.

But don't worry too much you will manage !

mainer

Mar 22, 2002
Another Spanish Question.

Is the letter V pronounced like the English V or the English B in the DR. We are also studying on our own, and each program gives a different pronunciation. Also, the color orange has two very different pronunciations in Spanish.

Thanks,
Mainer

ms.mathilda

May 5, 2002
i was told that

it is more of a "b" sound but most english speakers cannot pronounce it the correct way. So i heard it is much better to stick with a light v sound. this was told to me from a friend who just completed a spanish class passed on from the instructor,