birth certificate

La Chili

May 9, 2002
My husband's last name on his birth certificate (and consequently his cedula, passport, etc...) is spelled incorrectly. This has created problems for us in Canada because now all of his Canadian documents have the same incorrect spelling. How can we go about correcting this. Any information would be appreciated.

mkohn

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
my humble suggestion would be to do a legal name change but I'm not a lawyer, so I don't know if that's the simplest way where you live.
Good luck. I just got a legal document back today with Mary spelled Mart.
Mart :)

La Chili

May 9, 2002
Thanks however I feel that this should be changed at the source, in his municipality. We have plenty of supporting documents that would indicate that this must have been a typing error at the time he was registered. Once we can correct his birth certifcate in the DR we should be able to correct his documents here in Canada. There must be a way.

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002
www.drlawyer.com
If, as you say, you have plenty of supporting documents that indicate that a mistake was made at the time of registration, then you should petition the court (Juzgado de Primera Instancia) of the place where the registration took place to correct the error through a procedure called "rectificaci?n de acta de estado civil". You will need a lawyer to do this.

La Chili

May 9, 2002
Thank you for your reply. One last question..is this kinf of thing very time consuming and expensive. I ask because I don't foresee us visiting the DR for more that one or two weeks at a time.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
My wife needed a copy of our sons birth certificate

I gave her 300 pesos.I told her that after everyone at the Juzgado says that they can,t find the record,make an offer of 300 pesos to anyone who "CAN" find it! Only took about 15 minutes after the "Offer"! So take a few 100 peso notes to "speed-up" the record finding process! "CRISCO"