Moving to the Dominican Republic

beckyred11

Jul 9, 2002
Hello All!

I am new to this, so please be kind. I just have a few questions that I need answered and think that this is the best place to start!

I am moving to the Dominican Republic (Juan Dolio) in August to teach (at an English speaking school), and need some advice on what things that I should take from home (Ontario). I was planning on taking enough "essentials" to last the entire school year but I am realizing that there just isn't enough space in my suitcase for everything. I was just wondering what is really expensive to purchase there, or just not available at all.

Thank you in advance.

Becky

kjdrga

Mar 25, 2002
In terms of tolietries and personal care item buy them in the DR, if you don't mind trying different brands of soap, shampoo, deodorants you will find things much cheaper. Make-up is expensive, and nail polish is cheap but poor quality. You will be able to find American brands of things but they will be more expensive. Clothes are super cheap if you are not looking for GAP, Oscar de La Renta, etc. You can get perfectly adequate clothes, unless you are well rounded in which case bring pants from Canada, because you'll have trouble finding your size and they'll be tight!

When I first moved down I only brought enough stuff to last me a few months and from there went out and explored what the Dominican Republic had to offer me. Hair Gel, if you use it you'll find tons of it there...

Electronics are expensive unless you are talking about a blender and an iron, which come cheap. I brought I cheap cassette stereo player with me that didn't take alot of D batteries (name brands can be quite expensive so I brought enough for a year, super heavy though), since where I lived we didn't have electricity at all. That was such a savor at times! Also a Swiss Army knife with a cork screw remover, you'd never imagine how useful that knife became...