market for computer professionals?

membruce

Jul 14, 2002
Dose anyone know what the market is like in the DR for computer professionals? I may be interested in starting a consulting firm. I am a pilot and can fly to surrounding islands to enlarge my market.

Thanks,
Bruce Campbell

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
GOOD computer professional can always make a living here - depends on where you are wanting to live, how fast you want to move & how much money you have to throw away!!

Immediate answer ...... DON'T start ANY form of business here until you have studied the culture, seen how the locals operate & checked out all the ways you can be ripped off. Excuses, deception & corruption abound here - & NOT just by Dominicans!! Dominicans have their eye to the main chance true, but the ex-pat community have more than their fair share of rogues too!!!

I have a flying friend up here on the north coast who knows many of the problems of flying round the islands. I have quite a few Business contacts here too. IF you are thinking of setting up on the north coast, by all means drop me an e-mail but first visit the archives of this board using the key words "Setting up a business". You will be amazed at the amount of times this subject has been raised!

Good luck - Grahame.

lhtown

Jan 8, 2002
BushBaby said:
GOOD computer professional can always make a living here - depends on where you are wanting to live, how fast you want to move & how much money you have to throw away!!

Immediate answer ...... DON'T start ANY form of business here until you have studied the culture, seen how the locals operate & checked out all the ways you can be ripped off. Excuses, deception & corruption abound here - & NOT just by Dominicans!! Dominicans have their eye to the main chance true, but the ex-pat community have more than their fair share of rogues too!!!