working as a dentist

zeev

Jul 20, 2002
I would like to find out if I'd be able to work as a dentist in D.R. I have a diploma from Russia and was not able to use it in Canada, Is there anyone who knows if it would be legal for me to work in D.R, and if so, would there be a demand for a Russian/English speaking Dentist in Purto Plata area? Thanks for any comments!

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
You should expect to have trouble. They have been cracking down on foreign doctors and dentists who set up a practice without a Dominican license. Partly this is due to pressure by Dominican health professionals who saw their patients going to the foreign doctors and dentists.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Foreign Doctors and Dentists

While I have experienced some recent tragedy, I would never seek the opinion, much less the care of any foreign M.D. or Dentist. Okey, I can see a scenario where this could happen: When the new HOMS opens up and they are rotating MDs from the Mayo, Cleveland, Jackson Memorial, Mt. Sinai and Sloan-Kettering facoilities through the different programs. But only like that.

Go figure. If they (foreign medical personnel) could not make it in their home countries, why should they come here? None of them are anything special. You certtainly can't read what their "Certificates" have to say...Okey, they can speak your native language, as something special.

Ah, you say, what about Dominican M.D.s that go to the United States? Curiously, they have to pass a whole battery of tests, then pass the local boards and serve their Residencies. THEN they can practice-this goes for both MDs and DDSs...

Would you like to be treated by a Cuban who did Med School in 18 months so he could be shipped to Angola to sew up Cuban Expeditionary troops and poor locals caught up in the war?
Or, MY GOD!! A Russian Dentist?? The laughing stock of European dentistry!!???.