Cumin?

mne01

Sep 5, 2002
Hi,

I just came to Santo Domingo for a 3-month stay. I say a recent posting on Indian food and I have a related question. I was wondering if anyone knows what cumin(Cuminum cyminum) is called in Spanish and where I could find it.

And what about fresh coriander (Chinese parsley) - is that a dead end?

Thanks!

mne

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Re Cumin

Look for the small bottles labeled Comino or Cominos in the spice section of supermarkets. You'll find it ground (molidos) and seeds (grano). The bottles available in Sosua have a red lid, with either a DANI or CARAMENCITA trademark on the label.

Pib

Goddess
Jan 1, 2002
www.dominicancooking.com
coriander = cilantro
ingred_coriander.jpg

mne01

Sep 5, 2002
Thank you!

So I'll probably find comino. Cilantro fresco, however, I probably won't find in bottles... Any ideas? Do they use it at all? It has a very distint taste and I haven't heard of any cooking outside asia that uses it. I'm not an expert on cooking though. I just like coriander...

mne

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Cilantro is widely used. Always available in the "farmers' markets", don't know about supermarkets. But it is used in the DR

Jane J.

ditz
Jan 3, 2002
Ken, you must mean culantro, otherwise known as recao, available in colmados and supermarkets everywhere. You can substitute coriander / cilantro with recao, as it's from the same family and has the same distinctive taste.

Note: ask for "recao", not "culantro"...culantro will get you some funny looks and blank stares....

Last edited:

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
I buy cilantro fresh all the time.....

In the farmers market in San Pedro, at Iberia in SP and at any supermarket in Santo Domingo.
I've also found it bottled-dried as coriander (cilantro is the fresh-coriander is the seed from the cilantro which is sold dry as seed or ground). Also known as culantro in the DR dialect...