your opinion

jdiaz

Sep 10, 2002
Hi, Board
I'm writing to you because I've decided to relocate to DR and have been reading your posts religiously as well as the archives. I have gained a tremendous amount of information and insight on such a move. Let me take this time to thank you all for the wealth of information I've been able to attain here at DR1. In reading the archives you and the members suggest that in making a permanent move to DR, securing employment before hand is crucial. Preferably with an American corporation. I have tried in vain finding employment with a corporation here in the states and relocating to DR. And so I was hoping you can give me some suggestions/ideas as to where to whom or what I can turn to for employment.
My background is in the Financial Services arena, I'm registered with NASD. I have the Series 7, 24 & 63. My expertise is in sales and branch management. My most recent position was as an Investment Representative with Edward Jones. Previous to that I spent five years with Dreyfus. My last position with Dreyfus was as Branch Operations Manager for their 200 Park Ave, NYC Financial Center. I'd be happy to forward my resume and cover letter to any one who requests it.
I have a few questions:
1- Is there a need, in DR, for a licensed Investment Representative/Financial Advisor with knowledge limited to the American securities market?
2- If there is, what companies could I submit my resume to?
3- If there is not a need, what alternative options do I have, in your opinion, to gain employment in DR with my background?
4- Would it be more advantageous to go down to DR first and personally assess the situation myself?