House plans

Paulino

Jan 4, 2002
Buenas,

My native Dominican wife is the proud owner of a small piece of land (500 sqm) in her home town in the Cibao. So we are planning to build a house on the lot. Not being an architect myself, I still have been fiddling with a CAD/architectural drawing program (CYCAS, of German origin) trying to come up with something that might serve my purpose. The stuff I have drawn this far is perhaps OK, but I am not that enthusiastic about the style of it. It looks rather like a box, with the exception of a hipped roof.

So what's on my mind is, where might I go looking for professional help in the DR, or find ready made drawings in a genuine Caribbean or Dominican style, to be had for not horrendous amounts of pesos? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Paulino, Norway

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Really interesting

There are many excellent arquitects in the DR. That much is for sure.

However, you have to know the soil, the location of the lot, what are the neighboring houses like, in order not to stand out like an idiot...

About six houses down from me, this whako woman (crimenally insane, now serving life!) from New York, came and bought a house, tore it down and put up a horrible thing that looks totally out of place, cannot be sold for anything near its cost, and while she is rotting in a jail in New York for the rest of her life, her brother comes on his motorcycle to look after it.

If you go around the country and look for monstrocities that are out of place, those are the houses of the drug dealers back from the big cities of the US...

So, in order to avoid that scenario, you had best get a good look at the surroundings, talk to a good arquitect, show him/her what you have come up with and go from there.

A good Civil engineer is also necessary to build at a reasonable cost. And you should be there for a lot of the construction.