Expat community

Quisqueya Girl

Oct 21, 2002
I am curious to know more about the expat community living in the DR. Is it large? Is it mostly American or European? What types of people form it - retirees, English teachers, missionaries, adventure seeker/travellers? Also, how are Americans viewed by the Dominicans in light of the U.S. historical involvement there?

Thanks!

-QG

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
The expat community composed of all sorts of people. Come from Europe, Canada, the US, and the countries of the east. I've lived here for 16 years and have never experienced any problem because I am from the US. A large percentage of the Dominican families have some relative living there.

lhtown

Jan 8, 2002
I am an American living in Santo Domingo. It is not unusual to see another American, but it is still fairly rare. I would guess that there are more french than Americans. There are also quite a few persons of oriental descent. Of the Americans, some tourists, some in business, some aid workers and missionaries.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
More French than Americans?Where do you "Hang Out"?

You name it,you can find it! Come down,have a party at your house,invite the "Locals" from DR! and you will have a great time! Most "Ex-Pats" are a little "Strange",in the good sense.The people I have met from DR! are really interesting,and fun.Be sure to invite "Pib",a super cool dominicana,and "Hillbilly",he has forgotten more about the DR than most people will ever know!CRIS

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I didn't know I was an ex-pat until I got on this board..