Dominican Orphanages

Jersey Devil

Bronze
Jul 5, 2002
After reading some replies on another topic, the subject
of Orphanages came up. Just wondering if those orphanages
are all run by the DR's Government or by private organizations?
How can one help those in orphanages?

Te cuida,

M

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
I'm no expert Villa but the ones in my area are all privately run and are charitable organizations mainly sponsored from abroad.
I often bring a carry-on sized bag of clothes for one of them and I've given the address of another to a church group in my hometown here in Canada that sends clothes, school supplies, toys and personal hygiene products to them.
There is also a postings from Andre a on the board for help with a "school" in San Pedro that helps a lot of street kids. Not quite sure if there is an orphanage run by the padre but there might be.

L

leonardo1267

I am glad you admit that you are not an expert, you are just somebody prejudice and unfair, expecting to find Canada wherever you go. before you made an opinion about a whole country, i think you must do you homework.
should I say that Canadians women are easy to take to bed, because I took so many of them to bed? not, I shouldn't, because , the actions of a few doesn't portrait the whole country.
leonardo "economic traveler"

Bugsey34

Bronze
Feb 15, 2002
Villa,

The orphanages that I have been involved with are all supposedly government supported, however, what they receive is not enough to make ends meet.

If you are interested in getting involved check out www.orphanage-outreach.org, the organization I have been working with for a few years.

If you don't want to deal with a group like this, then I would suggest that you find any orphanage in the DR that you would like to donate to, I am sure they would accept.

Last edited:

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com