Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Question How about photos of day to day life?

I am trying to convince my wife that moving to the DR is a good thing. One of the main problems that I am facing is that I have been doing humanitarian work with Haiti for about 5 years now. I can't get the DR and what I have told her about Haiti separated in her mind. She has seed things like "where would you buy grocery's?".

I have been able to find a lot of good photos of the countryside, resorts, and parties. I haven't been able to put together any information about the normal day to day lifestyle. For instance, a photo of the local grocery store or school.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
    Bruce

Goddess
    Post Thanks / Like

Local to where? There is a humongous difference between living in Santo Domingo/Santiago to living in Batey al Medio or Junumucú.

Anyhoo, check the media section, you will find a link on the homepage of this site.

aka - shadley
    Post Thanks / Like

try taking her on a trip.....

Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like

Like Pib said. Depends if you're talking about living in a big city or in Batey. Here is Meredith's web page of what day to day life is for some people in Batey Las Pajas.

http://www.worldisround.com/articles/12677/index.html

Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like

The best thing your wife can do (assuming she is even interested in the possibility of moving to the DR) is to read the past postings in the Living and Travel sections. They don't sound like they have been written about a deprived country without grocery stores, etc.

Also, click on the orange "living" at the very top of this page. When you get there, click on the links on left side of page. This will give you info on many aspects of life in Santo Domingo, but the same applies to other areas of country in a smaller scale.