How about photos of day to day life?

membruce

Jul 14, 2002
I am trying to convince my wife that moving to the DR is a good thing. One of the main problems that I am facing is that I have been doing humanitarian work with Haiti for about 5 years now. I can't get the DR and what I have told her about Haiti separated in her mind. She has seed things like "where would you buy grocery's?".

I have been able to find a lot of good photos of the countryside, resorts, and parties. I haven't been able to put together any information about the normal day to day lifestyle. For instance, a photo of the local grocery store or school.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Bruce

Pib

Goddess
Jan 1, 2002
www.dominicancooking.com
Local to where? There is a humongous difference between living in Santo Domingo/Santiago to living in Batey al Medio or Junumuc?.

Anyhoo, check the media section, you will find a link on the homepage of this site.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
The best thing your wife can do (assuming she is even interested in the possibility of moving to the DR) is to read the past postings in the Living and Travel sections. They don't sound like they have been written about a deprived country without grocery stores, etc.

Also, click on the orange "living" at the very top of this page. When you get there, click on the links on left side of page. This will give you info on many aspects of life in Santo Domingo, but the same applies to other areas of country in a smaller scale.

Have you considered that maybe she does not want to move to the DR and will not be convinced no matter what you say or show?

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
If you wife was dumped in the middle of Santo Domingo, she would think she was in a first world city.

Shopping malls, Mega malls, thousands of new model cars, Boutique malls, fine restaurants, Porsche dealers, Price Smart, Omaha Steaks, McDonalds, Burger King, KFC, etc etc etc.