Starting tourist related business in Southeast

Shawn

Jan 13, 2003
Hello all, this is my first time on the sight. I only wish I would of found in a couple months ago.
Anyway, I am an American with the intention of moving to the DR and starting a water related tourist business.
I have several questions so here is a few to start with.
Does anyone have any dealings with the existing large resorts in regards to offering an ammenity for the guests?
If I am located within one resort (as far as a busiess base) is it difficult to aquire outside resort business?
I most likely will be getting a business loan in the US, is it possible to get the loan in the DR and if so what are the benefits?
What type of legal counsel should I be seeking?
Will I have problems with finding good reliable bilingual employee's?
I will be taking tours to both Catalina Island and Saona Island, can anyone tell me honestly if these are desirable areas for tourist and are they over crowded?
I am also looking to aquire cruise ship business, does anyone have any dealings with them, and how many, if any are docking in the La Romana?
What type of business license is required?
I have heard horror stories about having to grease the palms of several people to get things done, any truth to that?
Aside from the business, how are Americans operating a business there treated?
These questions are in no specific order.
That should be enough to get things going.
Thank you for all your input.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Have you ever been to the DR?

I suggest you use the "search" function of this board as many of your questions have already been answered. Once you have done this and looked through the hundreds of posts relating to your questions, come back to us with more specific questions.

I STRONGLY recommended you spend some time here before investing here.

FYI: Commercial loan rates: 35%+

Shawn

Jan 13, 2003