Importing into the DR, FAQ

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pib

Goddess
Jan 1, 2002
www.dominicancooking.com
Every once in a while we have somebody with questions about importing into the DR/exporting to the DR. The questions are overall the same, and although they have been responded in many other threads I thought it would be good to put them in just one post, bookmark it and then just sent people to it when they have one of these questions.

If anyone is interested in my qualifications, I am a licensed Custom Broker, almost 10 years of experience in the Import/Export business, maritime and air transport and logistics of international transport. Nothing impressive but I think I can answer at least some of the typical questions. I must state that this DOES NOT constitute formal advice of any kind. You MUST consult a Custom Broker to obtain/confirm information regarding this matter.

The information does not apply to goods brought into the DR as a traveler?s luggage. I am assuming that you have at least basic knowledge of international commerce and INCOTERMS.

Q: Can anyone import goods into the DR?
A: Yes. A private person may import goods if they are for personal use. If the quantity and nature of these goods indicate that they may not be for personal use customs will (in most cases) require that a legally established company be the consignee. You MUST be at least legal resident to have a shipment cleared on your behalf; Customs will require your ID number (c?dula). For businesses the Tax Contributor Number (RNC) is required.

Q: What documents do I need to import goods into the DR?
A: It depends on the type of goods you will be importing. In general ALL shipments will require the following:
*Commercial Invoice
*Bill of lading or Air Way Bill
*Consular Invoice
*C1 (optional)