BEWARE of the Occidental Allegro Punta Cana

cmelo

Feb 3, 2003
This is my first time posting on this site or any re: a vaca review, but it won't be the last about this hotel.

I'll start off by stating that I'm Dominican but born and raised in NY. I have traveled throughout DR (First time in Punta Cana) aside from other countries and have never had an issue with my hotel stay until I landed at the Allegro Punta Cana. Uugghh! I will be the first to admit you get what you pay for but that shouldn't mean that customer service is out the window. I made my reservation through an agency in DR via a friend and it came out to $55 US per Adult per day. (This was not my first choice. Bavaro Palace had just doubled its rates when I was going to pay and others were sold out .)

I left for DR 1/18/03 did a little family/friend visitation. On 1/20 checked into the Sol Melia Paradisus. Totally fabulous no complaints there. Will try and do a thread on that one.

On 1/25 after spending a wonderful week at the Paradisus I checked into the ALLEGRO with my husband, 4 yr old son, 7 mo. old daughter for 4 nights. Now the fun begins. There were 4 people doing the check in and 1 person in front of us. We waited approx 15 min. then it took another 15 to finish with us. They were visibly unorganized and looked frazzled as if it were there first day on the job. I can't imagine others who didn't speak Spanish. They handed me 1 key (that was a new one for me) to a 3rd floor walk up with "great views." I told Whagner to keep the view and to look at my daughter in the carriage and see if HE would like to shlep her 3 flights of stairs with her diaper bag and all the beach toys and see how he likes it. ( I had requested a 1st floor room prior to leaving NY) I got the 1 st floor and I had to request the crib and fridge because apparently they didnt' have any info.