From a Haitian brother regarding a post on this site about Haitian Women

Status
Not open for further replies.

makendal30

Feb 3, 2003
Well, first let me begin by saying hello to my Dominican brothers and sisters, or should I say, those who can accept me as a brother. This is my first time on this site and I plan to circumnavigate it so as to get a feel of the mindset and the culturehere on the site.

The circumstances in which I find myself presented here are not favorable as I would have rather have been invited here based on some unifying foundation or sense of fellowship and comraderie. At one of the Haitian websites a post was made regarding several comments made here about Haitian women. Rather than comment, I chose to investigate for myself and draw my own conclusions. Suffice to say that I did read the thread regarding the subject, and although it did not sit well with me, I will not reply to it as of yet since I must read many posts and threads and topics to get an overview of the mindset of the posters of this site before I go off on a tangent.

I must say that the island of Hispaniola, now separated into Haiti and Dominican Republic, has a long history. The beginning history is filled with slave revolts where slaves of both sides of teh island fought side by side for freedom against France, Spain, and Britain. I will not go further than that because I am sure there shall be differences of opinions based on teh history of both countries. It is safe to assume that the color painted by Dominicans will be pro-Dominican and that painted by haitian historians will be pro-Haitian.