real estate - I am interested in buying

palmas

Jan 7, 2002
Hi! This is my first time on this site.
We have been to the D.R. 4 times, and all 4 times in the Bayahibe area. The last 2 times we stayed at The Viva Dominicus Resort. We were just there in January of this year and continue to enjoy this particular area,so much that we are planning on returning. However, on my 2nd last day I decided to take a walk around the outside area of the hotel to inform myself (just out of curiosity) regarding real estate. Well, I found myself looking at beautiful condos outside the Dominicus Palace wall, and also found a real estate company ( or so I thought ). They are called G.S.M. - General Service Management s.a. What I have found out is that they are part of the Dominicus chain and are building in this area which will be called - Dominicus Americanus. The whole concept sounds wonderful, but all we want is to look into buying a vacation home for now. Does anyone know anything about the real estate in this area as well as who this company really is. I find it a bit pricey, especially converting my canadian dollars into u.s. dollars.
I hope someone can give me some insight on this matter.
Thanks.

Golo100

Bronze
Jan 5, 2002
Palmas

I am not sure what you call pricey, but anything on or very near the beach, with beach access rights and priviledges is expensive. They do not longer build cheap real estate on the beach. The land is too valuable for cheap housing, specially in the Bavaro area and the East coast.

You will find yourself paying over US$250,000(starting prices for smaller units) for beach properties and some in the higher end, depending on the site. For instance a small 150 meter apartment on the beach would go as high as $US185,000. Off the beach expect to pay upwards of US$75,000 for small units. Anything over 200 sq. meters will have a steep price.