wanting to teach

childview

Mar 4, 2003
I'm an education student in edmonton canada. I have a year left in my degree and i was interested in moving to the DR to teach. i've looked into a few american international schools (because i do not speak spanish fluently) they seem pretty appealing. however, i would also be interested in teaching English as a second language. I can't find a lot of information on that though. I'm an English major with a Special Education minor. Does anybody know of what kind of opportunities I could investigate in the DR? Please help if you can!!

Cleef

Bronze
Feb 24, 2002
Plenty of opportunities

As you'll see with almost any question regarding employment here in the DR, your best bet is to get here first.

Have you traveled here before?

Are you looking to make money, or expand your life experiences (hint: only one will happen).

I'm not sure your educational background is going to make a huge difference in what you get paid, or where you work. You're likely to be an extremely valuable addition to any school.

IMO: Be somewhat selfish, determine your reason for coming/being here and use that to guide your choice in employment (i.e. public/private school - the size, the location).

As for ESL, there are many opportunities - especially in the city (S.D. - I assume Santiago too). What I've found hard with that option is getting there, and the times. You could spend 30-45 minutes trying to go a mile or two. Many classes are after work - in prime rush hour (which seemingly runs from 7am. - 1am, M-F).

Doable? Definitely!
Difficult? Sometimes in a mind-numbing manner.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
American international schools prefer teachers with a degree and teaching certificate.

And the fact you don't speak Spanish limits your opportunities even more.

Cleef

Bronze
Feb 24, 2002
Ken said:
And the fact you don't speak Spanish limits your opportunities even more.

Definitely!

The more Spanish you know the better off you will be, no doubt.