moving to Dominican what do we need

Victoria

Apr 28, 2003
Im new to this, hope I'm doing it right?

Was wondering what a person needs to be able to work in the Dominican? A residence premit? A work visa? And where does one obtain whatever is needed.

Also wondering about the education system there, as I have 4 small children.

Also wondering about the medical system? Can anyone enlighten me on any of these things?

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
There is a wealth of information in the archives that can help you.

For best assistance from people on the board, we need to know where you will be living. Impossible to give specific info without knowing that.

But, there are good schools (private) available; there are good doctors in the Dominican Republic, and you should plan to get residency.

But to tap the resources of the archives, click on the "search" button at top of this page, then do your search for residency, schools, doctors, etc.

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
A trifle leery on this

You are moving ( you know this?) and have no information at all yet? And with 4 kids, wow. Quite a change. Of course if you live in Havana right now maybe not much at all, since you didn't actually say from where.

How many times have you been and what are you doing going there? E.g. for $$$ and so on.

And I 2nd Tony C: Dominican is a person who lives there. For less typing say "to the DR".

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
Being very blunt, I think that to move here with 4 young children is either bery foolhardy or very selfish!! The Dominican schooling system is very basic (rote learning) whereas the private schools, although quite good, are very expensive. Think about the whole thing VERY carefully & check your real reasons for coming here.