Newbie here!

E

EJA

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on this board. I'm A 28 yr. old Dominican Male, living in the Boston area (only been to my country once, very long time ago). However, my wife and I are planning a trip to DR in August, for our anniversary and we are planning on staying in the Coral Hamaca in Boca Chica. My wife is Puerto Rican and this will be her first trip to DR. My question is, is an All-Inclusive the best way to go for your first time? and also, I 've heard so many mixed reviews about the Hamaca so I'm kind of leary about this place could anyone recommend another AI resort in the area. We will be in DR 8/1 - 8/10 is that when "El Festival Del Merengue" takes place in Boca Chica?

Thank you in advance!

P.S. This is a great site.

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
Go ahead and stay at the Hamaca. It gives you the dual combination of beach and being able to visit Santo Domingo for a taste of the Colonial City. Take a taxi into Santo Domingo one early afternoon for a tour of the Cathedral, Alcazar and then have dinner at Pate Palo Restaurant in front of the Alcazar.

You may also consider renting a car for a day to visit Cueva de las Maravillas (between Juan Dolio and La Romana) and Altos de Chavon in La Romana. From Altos de Chavon you can make your way to La Marina de Casa de Campo, quite an impressive place (but this is tricky so you need to ask and ask how to do it!) You may also consider visiting Dominicus Beach (right after Viva Dominicus Palace Hotel), the public beach that is actually the best beach on the strip. To do all this you need to start early to be back before night time.

E

EJA

Thank you both for your replies.

Thanks Dolores, that information will be very helpful!

mkohn

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
Would I be safe to say that if you don't want to drive, the cab drivers outside the hotel are more than willing to drive you around.